MFT’s Imaging Team named winners at HSJ Patient Safety Awards

News posted 22 September, 2021

  • Home
  • News
  • MFT’s Imaging Team named winners at HSJ Patient Safety Awards

Huge congratulations to the Imaging Team at Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust who were named winners in the Perioperative and Surgical Care Initiative of the Year category at Monday night’s HSJ Patient Safety Awards.

Held at Manchester Central on 20th September, the awards celebrated 159 finalists driving quality improvement in patient safety.

Judges said they were impressed by the quality of entries this year, especially throughout one of the most challenging years for the health and care sector. The Patient Safety Awards have a particular focus on recognising safety, culture and experience in patient care so it is fantastic to see our Imaging Team recognised for their impressive and outstanding work in perioperative and surgical care, partnered with GE Healthcare.

The team said: “We are very proud that our project on lowering the platelet threshold prior to tunnelled line insertions has won such a prestigious award. The project was a multi-disciplinary one, lead by our Advanced Practice IR Radiographers with the support of our Consultant colleagues and colleagues in Haematology, in particular Dr Jayne Peters and Dr Luke Carter. This project has had such a positive impact on patient experience for this cohort of patients, as well as improving service efficiency and timeliness of treatment. We hope that by receiving a national award, the results of our project encourage others to follow our lead.”

The judging panel said: “The winning presentation was clear, well presented and demonstrated a brave approach to clinical practice with potential benefits across a number of departments. The judges felt this winning project could have potential benefits at a national level and crossed boundaries between multiple specialities.”

The 23 winning and 21 highly commended projects showcased life-changing and much needed work pushing the boundaries of patient safety, and enhancing care quality for service users. To read more about the awards, please see here.