Arrow In this section

Referral to the National Aspergillosis Centre

Patients are referred to the centre for CPA by their local specialist Consultant. We do not operate with Choose and Book; referrals must be made directly to the centre.

The criteria for chronic pulmonary aspergillosis (CPA) are:

  • At least one pulmonary cavity on chest imaging with or without a fungal ball (aspergilloma) which has been present for at least three months and a positive aspergillus species test results by either serology or culture.

The Department of Health will take financial responsibility (through the National Aspergillosis Centre) for those with:

  • At least two or more pulmonary cavities on chest imaging, one single unresectable cavity, and a test result showing serology or cultures indicating aspergillus species.

Other forms of aspergillosis

The National Aspergillosis Centre also diagnoses and manages patients with

  • Allergic forms of aspergillosis such as Allergic Bronchopulmonary Aspergillosis (ABPA), Severe Asthma with Fungal Sensitivity (SAFS), Asthma Associated with Fungal Sensitivity (AAFS) and Allergic Fungal Sinusitis (AFS)
  • Chronic infections such as Saprophytic Sinusitis, Keratitis, Otomycosis and Onychomycosis
  • Acute infections such as Acute Invasive Aspergillosis

Non-CPA referrals

A consultant or GP can make referrals to NAC for non-CPA cases but MUST use NHS e-Referral.