Opening hours and contact details

Arrow In this section

Opening hours and services available

The department is open from 08:00hrs – 17:00hrs, Monday to Friday (except bank holidays)

Synovial fluid samples should be received in the department by 16:00hrs.

Find or contact us at the Manchester Cytology Centre

The Manchester Cytology Centre is located on the first floor of Clinical Sciences Building 2. All visitors must access the department via the reception area of Clinical Sciences Building 1.

Please also contact us if you have any complaints or service improvement suggestions.

If you wish to make a formal or informal complaint please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) at www.mft.nhs.uk

Many verbal complaints will be easily and quickly resolved by the clinical lead, laboratory manager or a cyto/histopathologist and will be recorded by the department.

It is the discretion of the Laboratory Manager to forward any complaints onto the Directorate of Laboratory Medicine team for recording if appropriate.

Address

Manchester Cytology Centre
First Floor
Clinical Sciences Building 2
Manchester Royal Infirmary
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9WL

Email: cyto.pathology@mft.nhs.uk

Telephone enquiries

Telephone Fax
General 0161 276 5111 0161 276 5113
Synovial fluid cytology results 0161 276 5115/5116/6727

Advice on synovial fluid sample collection

Comments, complaints or suggestions

0161 276 5103/5118
Urgent sample requests 0161 276 5103/5118
Request sample containers or forms 0161 276 8817

 

 

 

 

Key contacts

Name Position Telephone Email
Professor Anthony Freemont Head of Osteoarticular Pathology Service 0161 275 5269 anthony.freemont@mft.nhs.uk
Dr Miles Holbrook Consultant Cytopathologist 0161 276 6475 miles.holbrook@mft.nhs.uk
Paul Hermansen Consultant Biomedical Scientist 0161 276 5103 paul.hermansen@mft.nhs.uk
Peter Heptinstall Consultant Biomedical Scientist 0161 276 5118 peter.heptinstall@mft.nhs.uk
Sarah Ferris Biomedical Scientist Team Leader 0161 276 5115 sarah.ferris@mft.nhs.uk
Nicola Wood Medical Secretary 0161 276 5116 nicola.wood@mft.nhs.uk
Helen Wilson Medical Secretary 0161 276 6727 helen.wilson@mft.nhs.uk
Jennifer Bradburn Medical and Training School Secretary 0161 276 8804 jennifer.bradburn@mft.nhs.uk
Adanna Ehirim Cytology Lead Biomedical Scientist 0161 276 5119 adanna.ehirim@mft.nhs.uk
Sally Wood Cellular Pathology Manager 0161 276 6138 sally.wood@mft.nhs.uk